Traditionally, there were    seven Cherokee clans.
Each is shown on this 
    seven-sided design next 
      to its name in the
     Cherokee language.There
     were seven councilors             to the chief, and seven 
     honored women took part 
     in the government. The          council house, where the        government met and               councils were held was          seven-sided. At the 
     center of the house, as 
     in this design, was the            sacred fire that kept                burning with seven kinds 
    of wood.

              Contact Us

         Mary A. Saccucci

       [email protected]